Comparison · WorkHorse alternative

A WorkHorse alternative for alarm dealers

WorkHorse SCS is back-office software for alarm companies, with two-way central-station integrations. FieldStacker bills your RMR, signs your agreements and runs your sales and installs, with the price on the page and no onboarding fee.

Pro $30/mo, or $25/mo billed yearly · 14-day free trial · no contract

The short answer: WorkHorse SCS, from WorkHorse Inc. in Bradenton, Florida, is $350/mo with 1 user, $25/mo for each added user and a one-time onboarding fee from $1,000, as listed on WorkHorse's pricing page, October 2026. Pick WorkHorse if you need two-way sync with your central station or with Alarm.com today: WorkHorse does that and FieldStacker does not. Pick FieldStacker if you want RMR billing with autopay, e-signed agreements with no per-signature fee and an on test / off test log from $30/mo, with no onboarding fee and your techs free.

WorkHorse SCS is built for the back office of an alarm company: a CRM, dispatch and scheduling, RMR billing, e-agreements, on/off test tracking, parts, multiple locations, a "PayNow" customer payment portal, email and text, QuickBooks Online sync and one mobile app. Its strength is the connection to the monitoring side: two-way integrations with more than 30 central stations, including Affiliated, AvantGuard, C.O.P.S. and Rapid Response, plus Alarm.com, Alula, SecureCom (DMP), SecureNet and Ajax. If your office needs that sync today, WorkHorse does it and FieldStacker does not. FieldStacker stores the central-station name and account number, the Alarm.com customer ID, the zones and the emergency call list on each account, but it does not connect to the central station and receives no alarm signals.

WorkHorse prices, as listed on WorkHorse's pricing page, October 2026

From WorkHorse's pricing page: $350 a month including 1 user, and $25 a month for each additional user. Onboarding is a one-time $1,000 with data import, $2,000 for a CSV template self-import with interactive training, or custom hourly. eAgreements are $2.00 each and USPS first-class mailers $1.58 each. Card processing through their merchant service is 2.89% + $0.25 (Amex 3.10% + $0.25), and ACH is $0.65. The pricing page does not state a contract length; their Master Service Agreement governs it.

Example: the first year for a small dealer

An example, not a quote: the owner runs the office, with field techs, on monthly billing. Card processing is left out of both, because it depends on your volume.

First yearFieldStackerWorkHorse
Monthly planPro, $30/mo$350/mo with 1 user
12 months$30 × 12 = $360$350 × 12 = $4,200
Onboarding$0; you import your accounts yourself$1,000 with data import
Field techs$0; techs are freeNot counted here; ask WorkHorse whether techs need a user
E-signed agreements$0 per agreement$2.00 each (60 in a year = $120)
First-year total$360$5,200, plus $2.00 per eAgreement

Billed yearly, FieldStacker Pro is $25/mo, so $300 for the year. More office users: WorkHorse adds $25 a user a month; FieldStacker Team is $60/mo for 3 people. Texting customers from your own number is an optional $15/mo add-on ($180 a year). One thing to know before you plan the office: in FieldStacker, the Monitoring pages (the account book, RMR billing and the on test / off test log) open on the owner's login. Team seats use the rest of the app, such as quotes, the schedule, invoices and customers, but they do not see the owner's monitoring book.

Side by side

Their details are from their own site and public listings, checked October 2026. Where we could not confirm something, we say so.

What mattersFieldStackerWorkHorse
Published pricePro $30/mo, or $25/mo billed yearly; Team $60/mo for 3 people$350/mo including 1 user, as listed on WorkHorse's pricing page, October 2026
More office usersTeam covers you + 2 seats ($20 a person); extra seats $20/mo each on Team and Team Pro$25 per user per month
Field techsFree; techs get the free crew app by inviteCheck their site
Setup and onboardingNo setup or onboarding fee; import monitoring accounts yourself from CSV or Excel$1,000 one-time with data import, $2,000 with a CSV template self-import and training, or custom hourly
ContractMonth to month; cancel any time from inside the appNot stated on the pricing page; their Master Service Agreement governs it
RMR billingYes Each account bills on its billing day, by emailed invoice or autopay on the card on file; a declined card is tried again on day 3 and day 7Yes RMR billing
Customer payment portalYes Customer portal: pay open invoices, save or change the autopay cardYes "PayNow" customer payment portal
Card processingYour own Stripe account at standard Stripe rates; FieldStacker adds nothing2.89% + $0.25 through their merchant service (Amex 3.10% + $0.25); ACH $0.65
E-signed agreementsYes Import your own PDF or Word agreement; it fills itself in and the customer signs on any device, with no per-signature feeYes eAgreements at $2.00 each
Central-station syncNo Stores the central station, CS account #, zones, emergency call list and whether a passcode is on file (never the passcode); no connection to the station and no alarm signalsYes Two-way integrations with 30+ central stations, including Affiliated, AvantGuard, C.O.P.S. and Rapid Response
Alarm.com and panel platformsNo Stores the Alarm.com customer ID, panel and communicator on the accountYes Integrations with Alarm.com, Alula, SecureCom (DMP), SecureNet and Ajax
On test / off testYes A log with the station's confirmation number, and a reminder to the owner when a test runs past its window; you call the station yourselfYes On/off test tracking
Scheduling and dispatchYes Schedule board, day routes and a free phone app for your techsYes Dispatch and scheduling, with one mobile app
QuickBooks OnlineYes Sync for invoices and payments, on Pro and upYes QuickBooks Online sync
Email and textYes Email included; texting is a $15/mo add-on for 600 textsYes Email and text

Prices and features change. Always confirm current details on workhorsescs.com before you decide.

See how FieldStacker compares on your own jobs

Try it free for 14 days. We bring your customers over from WorkHorse or any other app for free.

  • No credit card to start
  • From $30/mo after the trial
  • Your techs and cleaners are free
  • Cancel any time from the app

Who should pick which

Both are real tools. It comes down to how you sell and what you want in one place.

Pick FieldStacker if…

  • You are a small dealer and want to see the whole price before you talk to anyone
  • You want RMR billing with autopay, card retries and a customer portal, with no onboarding fee
  • You want e-signed agreements without paying per signature
  • Your reps sell door to door, and you want the knock map, alarm quotes and commissions in the same app as your installs
  • You lay out camera systems and want the layout to become the quote

Pick WorkHorse if…

  • You need two-way sync with your central station today, such as Affiliated, AvantGuard, C.O.P.S. or Rapid Response
  • You want integrations with Alarm.com, Alula, SecureCom (DMP), SecureNet or Ajax
  • Several people in your office work the monitoring billing, or you run more than one location
  • You want mailed paper statements sent for you (USPS first-class mailers at $1.58 each)
The account book

FieldStacker also has the dealer side of RMR

Beyond billing, FieldStacker keeps the numbers an alarm company owner watches when the book is the business: what it is worth, what is sold or funded, and who is worth a call.

What every plan includes

  • What your accounts are worth: RMR, 12-month attrition and an estimated book value
  • Sold and funded accounts: the holdback, the chargeback window, and an alert when an account cancels inside it
  • Takeovers, step by step: release, installer code, new CS #, new account
  • Upgrade lists: landline or no communicator, no video, contracts ending soon
  • On test / off test, with a reminder when a test runs past its window
  • Door-to-door tools: knock map, doorstep alarm quotes and rep commissions
  • A CCTV camera layout designer and an AI-built website

Questions people ask

How much does WorkHorse alarm software cost?

As listed on WorkHorse's pricing page, October 2026: $350/mo including 1 user, $25/mo for each additional user, and a one-time onboarding fee of $1,000 with data import, $2,000 for a CSV template self-import with interactive training, or custom hourly. eAgreements are $2.00 each and USPS first-class mailers $1.58 each. Card processing through their merchant service is 2.89% + $0.25 (Amex 3.10% + $0.25), and ACH is $0.65. Check their pricing page for current numbers.

Does FieldStacker connect to my central station like WorkHorse does?

No. WorkHorse lists two-way integrations with more than 30 central stations, plus Alarm.com, Alula, SecureCom (DMP), SecureNet and Ajax. FieldStacker does not connect to central stations or Alarm.com and receives no alarm signals. It stores the central-station name and account number, the Alarm.com customer ID, the panel, zones and the emergency call list on each account, so your office can find them, and your monitoring center keeps doing the monitoring. If you need that sync today, WorkHorse is the better fit.

What would a small dealer pay in the first year?

In our example, the owner runs the office with field techs: WorkHorse is $350/mo with 1 user, so $4,200 for 12 months, plus $1,000 onboarding with data import, or $5,200, plus $2.00 per eAgreement. FieldStacker Pro is $30/mo, so $360 for the year, with techs free, no onboarding fee and no per-signature fee. Card processing is left out of both. It is an example, so price your own team on our pricing page.

Can my office staff use the monitoring pages in FieldStacker?

No. The Monitoring pages (the account book, RMR billing, funding, takeovers and the on test / off test log) open on the alarm company owner's login. Team seats use the rest of the app, such as quotes, the schedule, invoices and customers, but they do not see the owner's monitoring book.

Does FieldStacker charge per e-signed agreement?

No. You import your own PDF or Word agreement once, it fills itself in from the quote or monitoring account, and the customer signs on their phone, tablet or computer. There is no per-signature fee. More on the alarm company software page.

Can I move my monitoring accounts to FieldStacker?

Yes, if you can export them to a CSV or Excel file. FieldStacker matches the columns (name, monthly price, contract start, CS number, Alarm.com ID and more), shows a preview, and skips duplicates by CS number, then Alarm.com ID, then name and address. Imported accounts come in paused, so nothing bills twice while the old system is still billing. See alarm monitoring billing.

Does FieldStacker track when an account is on test?

Yes. Before a tech works on a system, you call the station and log the account on test for a set number of hours, with the reason and the station's confirmation number. When you take it off test, you log that too. If a test is still open when its window ends, the owner gets a reminder to call the station. FieldStacker does not talk to the station itself.

Try it on a real job before you decide

Start a 14-day free trial, no credit card. Month to month, cancel any time.